🚧 NSCG | Virtual end-of-year celebration for students, apprentices and…
Your browser is unsupported and may have security vulnerabilities! Upgrade to a newer browser to experience this site in all it's glory.
Skip to main content

9th July 2020

In a night filled with celebration, reflection, pride and emotion, Stafford College’s, part of the Newcastle and Stafford Colleges Group (NSCG), fourth annual Celebration Awards showcased the College, its students, apprentices and employer partners at their very best.

Due to the current COVID-19 situation, this year the prestigious ceremony was virtually streamed from the College’s Facebook page (@NSCGStafford) on Tuesday 7 July. Host Karen Dobson OBE, Principal and Chief Executive at NSCG congratulated the inspiring award winners, introduced musical performances and special guest appearances from Lord Stafford, Stoke City goalkeeper Jack Butland and Carol Shanahan, local businesswomen and Chair at Port Vale Football Club.

Ahead of the evening ceremony, award winners were delivered congratulatory goodie boxes along with their award certificates to their homes. The evening saw 51 different awards presented for outstanding contributions and successes; including dedicated sixth form and vocational awards, skills & progression awards, sport awards, cross college awards, apprenticeship achievement and employer recognition awards.

In addition to this, there were a number of special awards, including The Ian Marsden award for sporting excellence and the Laura Furnival award. Two students were selected for the prestigious Principal’s Award. They were, Dylan Webb formerly of Haberdashers’ Adams and Sian Gilmour, formerly of Cardinal Griffin Catholic College.

Dylan arrived at Stafford College after attending a grammar school and described the College environment as a breath of fresh air. He has made the most out of college life, attending all trips and visits offered over the last two years, completed two valuable work experience placements alongside his studies and helped support his peers through new ways of learning during lockdown. Dylan now hopes to progress from Stafford College to join the RAF.

Throughout her time at the College, Sian has continued to build on her strong academic work which has put her on course to achieve the highest grades in her final examinations. As a member of NSCG’s Honours Programme, which provides support and guidance to our most able students and encourages them apply for competitive and demanding university courses, Sian proved to be confident and able to collaborate with her peers on a number or tasks. Independent and driven, Sian will undoubtedly make an impact in the world of business, starting with her undergraduate degree in Business Management at the University of Liverpool.

Karen Dobson, Principal and Chief Executive at NSCG, said: “We were determined not to let the current situation stop us from recognising and celebrating the outstanding achievements of our students, apprentices and employers. Our staff do everything they can to ensure our students thrive and achieve in their studies and ultimately go on to make a positive contribution in the businesses and communities in which they live and work and we are extremely proud of them all.”

Full list of award winners:

Sixth Form Awards:

Outstanding Achievement - Arts and Creative Award - Orla Fielder

Outstanding Achievement - Humanities and Social Sciences Award - Jessica Moore Outstanding Achievement - Science Award - Mia Smith

Outstanding Achievement - English Award - Elizabeth Meeson

Outstanding Achievement - Maths and Computer Science Award - Tom Schoolar

A Level Award for Special Achievement - Adam Sheppard

A Level Award for Special Achievement - Kerenza Hudson

Vocational Awards:

Outstanding Achievement - Computing and It Award - Callum Hutchinson Outstanding Achievement - Creative Arts Award - Wanicha Promrak

Outstanding Achievement - Early Years Award - Katie Harvey

Outstanding Achievement - Engineering Award - Harry Malbon

Outstanding Achievement - Health & Social Care Award - Kranti Rai

Outstanding Achievement - Performing Arts Award - Ashleigh Gardiner

Outstanding Achievement - Public Services - Taylor Hartley

Outstanding Achievement - Travel and Tourism Award - Ella-May Campbell Sutherland

Outstanding Achievement - Business Award - Sophie Horvatt

Outstanding Achievement - Sport Award - Ellie-Mae Ward

Outstanding Achievement - Vocational Science Award - Jacob Avison

Vocational Award for Special Achievement - Ben Carless

Skills & Progression Awards:

Outstanding Achievement - Hairdressing and Beauty Award - Nikhita Patel Outstanding Achievement - Hospitality and Catering Award - Elise Jones

Outstanding Achievement - Motor Vehicle Award - Lewis Penny-Slinn

Outstanding Achievement - Foundational Level Award - Verushka Mbai

Outstanding Achievement - Intermediate Level Award - Neahve Jones

Outstanding Achievement - Intermediate Level Award - Kyle Haycock

Progression Award for Special Achievement - Thomas Allen

Cross College Awards:

Award for Progress in English - Cameron Sargeant

Award for Progress in English - Matthew Tonks

Award for Progress in Maths - Charlotte Ponder

Award for Progress in Maths - Kayleigh Farmer

Student of the Year - Adult Award - Liam Bracey

Student of the Year - Adult Award - Charlotte Glover

Xtra of the Year - Sean Shaunessy

Apprenticeship Awards:

Outstanding Achievement - Intermediate Apprentice Award - Kerry Billett Outstanding Achievement - Intermediate Apprentice Award - Lewis Tuckley Outstanding Achievement - Advanced Apprentice Award - Kerys Hill

Outstanding Achievement - Advanced Apprentice Award - Ben Colley

Outstanding Achievement - Higher Apprentice Award Thomas Lloyd

Employer Awards:

Best New Employer 2020 Aston Marina

Best Small Employer 2020 Enabling Activities Ltd.

Best Small Employer 2020 Queens Croft High School

Best Large Employer 2020 Midlands Partnership Foundation Trust

Best Large Employer 2020 A.P. Webb Ltd.

Employer of the Year 2020 University Hospitals North Midlands Trust (UHNM)

Sport Awards:

Sport Volunteer of the Year Award - Matthew Wright

Team of the Year - 2020 Ladies Netball Team

Special Awards:

The Ian Marsden Award for Sporting Excellence (Female) - Jada Gurden

The Ian Marsden Award for Sporting Excellence (Male) - Mark Dixon

The Laura Furnival Award - Joshua Lockley

The Principal’s Award 2020 (Vocational) - Dylan Webb

The Principal’s Award 2020 (Academic) - Sian Gilmour