🚧 NSCG | Outstanding staff recognised at annual awards ceremony
Your browser is unsupported and may have security vulnerabilities! Upgrade to a newer browser to experience this site in all it's glory.
Skip to main content

10th July 2018

Newcastle under Lyme College held its annual general meeting and staff awards presentation on Wednesday 27 June where a number awards were made to recognise outstanding staff contributions and achievements.

With Chair of Governors, Simon Leech, senior managers and staff in attendance, the College’s annual staff awards ceremony, which was held at the College’s Performing Arts Centre, saw a range of awards presented, including; Outstanding Contribution – Lecturer, Outstanding Contribution – Assessor, Outstanding Contribution - Support Staff Member, Outstanding Contribution – first year, along with a special group Senior Management Team award.

The category Outstanding Contribution – Lecturer, was very closely contested and awards were presented to Curriculum Leader of Electrotechnical & Higher Education, David Halliwell and Sport Lecturer and ex Newcastle College student, Ross Cope in recognition of their dedication and commitment to their respective roles.

The Outstanding Contribution - Assessor category, was won by Dean Moorhouse for his professionalism, positivity and commitment to his role. Dean is always fully committed to ensuring his apprentices have the best chance possible to progress and is a hugely popular and deserving winner.

The Outstanding Contribution for a staff member in their first year went to Group Head of Human Resources, Karen Renshaw, for her efforts, adaptability and dedication applied to her new role within the College.

In a dedicated category to reward long-serving staff members, PA to the College Principal, Joy Smith, who first joined the College as a Shorthand Typist over thirty years ago, was recognised for her longstanding service.

The group category Outstanding Contribution – Manager, was won by Group Head of Teaching, Learning and Quality, Gavin Barker for his dedication and hard work in maintaining the outstanding teaching and learning standards across both Newcastle and Stafford College.

The SMT Special Awards went to both the NSCG marketing team for their flexible, adaptable approach and involvement in numerous projects across both campuses as well as to Personal Tutor and long standing employee of the Group, Mike Fyles. Mike, who has held the role of A Level Study Support Tutor since 2001 has supported, guided and encouraged thousands of A Level Students to fulfil their potential over the years and is truly deserving of this award. This is the first time that the SMT Special Award has ever been given to an individual.

Principal & Chief Executive, Karen Dobson said: “We have a staff team who are highly dedicated and committed to making a difference to the lives of our learners and our wider community. The annual staff awards event is our way of formally thanking all staff for their commitment, whilst recognising and rewarding a number of highly dedicated, hard-working individuals who have really excelled in their respective roles.”

The full list of award winners:

Outstanding Contribution by a Lecturer Newcastle – Dave Halliwell & Ross Cope

Outstanding Contribution by an Assessor – Dean Moorhouse

Outstanding Contribution by a Manager at NSCG – Gavin Barker

Outstanding Contribution by a Member of Staff in their First Year Newcastle – Karen Renshaw

Outstanding Contribution by a Member of Staff Over the Course of their Career Newcastle – Joy Smith

Senior Management Team Special Award Support Category – NSCG Marketing Team

Senior Management Team Special Award Academic – Mike Fyles